Nyx Haul

Hey Everybody, smell the weekend already?

I lost my control last February. Not only because the tax return gives me more chance to do so, but also simply because I have no self determination at all to stop myself from buying makeup. So here is another post as the proof of my success (or failure) to get a good bargain on makeup

From Nyx Website

Nyx Lippies (Grabbed this on 40% off Sale)

img_2961

  1. Nyx Butter Gloss ($ 4.99)

($ 6.00 for the Butter Gloss set, as of right now when I posted the sets I got is sold out)

Set #9 : Apple Strudel, Cranberry Biscotti, Angel Food Cake

Individual : Peaches and Cream, Strawberry Cheesecake

Since you all know I’m not a fan of liquid lipstick, I’ll let you know something else about me here: If there’s any liquid lip product that I will gladly buy, It is gonna be lip gloss. Why? Because it feel comfortable on the lip, not drying (it’s hydrating actually) and it makes my lips look fuller without the hassle of drawing the lip with lip liner. Yes, I’m a lazy girl at its best.

  1. Nyx Pin-Up Pout Lipstick ($ 8.00)

Shades : Darling, Bombshell, Boundless

This lipstick is claimed to be a classic, creamy lipstick. Y’all probably have known my relationship with liquid lipstick is pretty much over so this year and I really avoid it. From the reviews about this new lipstick from Nyx, I haven’t heard any bad one. Since I just got it I haven’t really played with it much, but so far it felt fine on my lips, not drying but not as creamy as I expected.

PS: The shipping took quite long time. I made my order on 17th February and received my order on 1st of March. So you have to be patient a little bit

From Ulta

screen-shot-2017-03-03-at-10-29-26-am

BOGO Free SALE – I bought this in store, it’s not BOGO but each price is discounted 50% which turned out cheaper than if you buy BOGO. The sale valid until March 4

  1. Strobe Of Genius ($ 18.99)

    This slideshow requires JavaScript.

I’ve been eyeing this palette for so long, pretty much because of the lilac and rose gold tone in it. I’m actually not a fan of highlighter, but the first time I saw it, it just got my eye. After swatching it and seeing the pretty reflex from each shade, I know I have to grab this. You’re not gonna regret this palette, it gives you pretty glow, you can also use it as eyeshadow or eyeshadow and blush topper.

  1. Avant Pop – Surreal My Heart ($ 16.99)

img_2902

I grabbed this just because of the blue and teal green in this one, besides it’s BOGO deal so why not 😉 But it turns out the shades are really nice. I haven’t played with any Nyx eyeshadow since their super old one that came in small packaging called smokey. I have to say, I’m impressed with this palette. The pigmentation is good, not crazily pigmented but not patchy either. The texture is more on the dry side but it’s soft not gritty. The blue and teal is almost like metallic finish but not intense. The other neutral shades are semi-matte leaning to satin finish with no shimmer. Except for the yellow that I don’t really know when to use, the other colors are really nice. I like the grey shade below the blue, it’s not just grey but have some blue undertone in it and really nice for cool tone crease color. I’m actually thinking to grab the other 2 of this Avant Pop series

  1. Ultimate Brights (17.99)

img_2899

Still holding a ‘disappointment’ from my last rainbow colorful palette of UD Full Spectrum, I decided to try this one. Holy moly, this one is better than the UD one. Sorry UD, I love your naked palettes, but Girl for the price of $17.99 this little gem works better than the $39 one. The pigmentation isn’t as great like Kat Von D matte shade in metal matte, but it’s better than UD for sure, it’s not patchy and definitely you can get more pigmentation out of this one.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

I did swatch this with 2 methods, one without any primer or whatsoever and the second one using nyx jumbo eye pencil in milk. The one with white base is definitely more vibrant and bring out the color more. Overall, this palette is really good, and I highly recommend it.

  1. Sweet Cheeks Blush palette (19.99)

Let’s be honest, who need 8 colors of blushes? I believe people actually only need 4, pink, peach, and purple-y (plummy) one. This palette though, it really makes it easy to justify that I need all 8 colors in there. The first two shades on the top row are more like a highlighter or blush topper. The other six are all matte. The blush is pretty pigmented that I suggest you to dip in your brush with light hand, especially to the deeper shades.

  1. Duo Chromatic Illuminating Powder ($ 7.99)

screen-shot-2017-03-03-at-10-28-37-am

For someone who claim to be not a highlighter fan, these illuminating powder caught my eye very well. Initially I swatch this in store to compare it to the Strobe of Genius and to see if they’re the same but they’re not. I got the shade Lavender Steel and Crushed Bloom. Lavender Steel in texture is more buttery soft like powder. It’s a beautiful lilac with pink reflex highlight. Crushed Bloom is more on the grittier side, not rough but drier. It’s a rose gold orange shade that’s really beautiful on top of pinky blush.

screen-shot-2017-03-03-at-10-29-07-am

T-B : Lavender Steel – Crushed Bloom

First time I swatch them, o my goodness, the reflex from these shades are GORGEOUS. I tried the Crushed Bloom on top the ‘Candied Peach’ shade from Too Faced Sweet Peach palette and it really amped up the peach glow. Love love love. Another thing from Nyx that makes me want to get every shade from this line. It’s not a Bam! blinding highlight but it gives you chic nice healthy glow

Have you tried any of these products? What do you think about them?

Let me know in the comments below

Peace out!

15 thoughts on “Nyx Haul

Leave a Reply

