Essence Hidden Gem

Dear Pretties,

I’m such a lucky girl that Essence kindly sent me their cute awesome goodies to play with. They send me some lippies, eye products, and nail polish (yay me! Believe it or not, this is the first nail polish that I have since 2-3 years ago)

You can find Essence at Ulta or Target, and order online from Essence website. I suggest Essence and Ulta website if you would like to explore the complete set of their products though, because Ulta and Target store (at least the one in my area) doesn’t have much selection. So now let me tell you my thought on these products

IMG_3193

Essence Long Lasting Lipstick in the shade “Nude Love” ($ 2.99)

This is your typical classic bullet lipstick, which if you have been following me for a while, you already know that this is the type of lipstick that I like. It has a really nice formula that’s comfortable on the lips and doesn’t make your lips feel dry. Does it stay put on the lips for a long time? A BIG YES, It does lift up to their claim as long lasting lipstick! My oh my, I don’t even remember when and what was the last lipstick that have this same comfortable formula with great staying power and doesn’t budge, doesn’t smear and dry comfortably not matte. For the price point and the quality of this lipstick, I will definitely get some more shades of this line. Great job, Essence!

Essence Liquid Lipstick ($ 1.79)

Shade : Peach Party (Light pink) and Show Off (bright red)

Pretties, I know I told you at the beginning of the year that I’m done with liquid lipstick because it’s so drying and just not my cup of tea. I’ve heard a lot of mixed review about Essence liquid lipstick that’s why I haven’t really pay attention to this product. Now I can say my very own thought. So here you go. In my opinion, the formula between the two shades isn’t consistent. Both are true to color but the darker shade is more opaque, while the Peach Party is more sheer and you need to build it up to get the color. The texture is more like a lip gloss (reminds me a lot like Nyx butter gloss, but with thicker pigment) It does feel comfortable on the lips, but if you expect it to last long and dry down to matte finished, it won’t. It doesn’t have a long staying power either, which I don’t really have problem with. For such an affordable price, nice color and decent pigmentation, this is definitely a fresh air in the sea of liquid lipstick madness.

The Gel Nail Polish ($ 1.99)

IMG_3195

Shade : Lucky (neon pink) and Island hopping (deep teal)

I got 2 nail polishes from Essence and both colors are my jam. I’m not a fan of nail polish and I can get away without nail polish for about 7 months, but once in a while I don’t mind to pop some colors on my nails. I like both the colors they sent me, it’s so fun for spring and summer. From my experience, these two isn’t the most long lasting one (used to be a die hard fans of O.P.I) With my activities that I don’t consider a heavy work and without top coat application, this nail polish only last 2 days without being chapped. I don’t think that this is a gel nail polish, because it doesn’t last as long.  Does putting on top coat help to make it last longer? If you’ve tried it, please let me know in the comment section below how do you like this nail polish.

IMG_3194

Dip Waterproof Liquid Eyeliner ($ 2.99)

Essence eyeliner are one of the products that need more love. Seriously. I purchased their liquid liner in the marker form and it’s really good, and this liquid one is no different. It’s very opaque, very black and it stays put. It glides on easily and the applicator is a little more stiff instead of like brush, which I actually prefer because I don’t have the most steady hand. A little downside though, it took a good almost a minute for it to dry down. I still set it with black eyeshadow too. I prefer the marker one over this, just because it’s easier to use. If you love more dramatic look, this one is definitely a great option. It’s so affordable, even cheaper than other drugstore brands, with the same great quality.

Eyeshadow stick

Shade: She’s got the mauve

This is so far my favorite product out of all the items that I got. It’s a pretty grey taupe color, very pigmented and it stays put! Usually, eye shadow sticks are kinda oily and fade away really fast on me because as you know, oily girl problem. I have tried this with concealer as eyeshadow base and with urban decay primer potion. Both hold this eye shadow stick pretty well. It does stay longer if you set the eyelid with transluscent powder. I haven’t played this with other eye shadow a lot, because when I use this type of eye shadow I use it for a quick and easy makeup, apply this all over the eyes, and blend out a little and done.

I ❤ Extreme Mascara

Can I say I love this mascara? I even love it more than my rocket volume mascara, which is now gone (God bless her soul) I was actually plan to get a replacement for my rocket volume mascara when I received this item in the mail. So when I open the package and saw this mascara, I tried it on and yes! a life safer (and pocket safer ;D ) I love the wand, love how black it is, not clumpy, and very volumizing.

What do you think about Essence, Pretties? Have you tried it? Do you like it? What’s your favorite Essence products?

I have another Essence product on the mail from my purchase at Ulta (yes this brand starts to grow on me), stay tune for the other Essence review. And if you wanna know what I got from Ulta, follow me on Instagram and Twitter

Peace Out!

Disclaimer : Essence sent me this product, but I am not requested nor paid to write this review, neither it affect my thoughts about these products. All things said here are my personal opinion and thought. 

16 thoughts on “Essence Hidden Gem

  1. I love essence mascaras, eyelashes glue, the black eyeliner and eyepencil. They are really affordable, the only drawback is that all stands are always empty:)

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Essence was the first brand I ever got into since they are so affordable and they are always coming out with new, cute limited edition collections! I haven’t bought from them for a little while, but I know they have some really amazing products. I love their lip liners, lipsticks and blushes!

    Tasha // shiwashiful.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

